Zhujiajiao is a typical ancient town located in the Qingpu District of Shanghai. The population in Zhujiajiao is around 66,000 so that it is called the largest suburb of Shanghai.
On the outskirt of Shanghai, the town was founded about 1,700 years ago. According to historical documents, there existed country fairs during the Song and Yuan dynasties nearby, and Zhujiajiao was formally established as a town during the Ming Dynasty. Covering an area of 18 square miles (47 square kilometers), Zhujiajiao houses thousands of buildings dating to the Ming and Qing dynasties with a river flowing through. Endowed with the name “Pearl Stream”, Zhujiajiao is much better preserved compared with other water towns in Shanghai.
Zhujiajiao enjoys the reputation of Shanghai’s Venice. Its beauty lies in not only the beautiful landscape but also in how it has been able to preserve the traditional lifestyle of the native residents.
There are 36 ancient bridges with different sizes, shapes, and styles which connect the old town. Among them, Fangsheng Bridge is the landmark of the town. Constructed during the middle of the Qing Dynasty (1636 – 1912 CE), it is the largest stone bridge, with five bridge arches. On the surface of the bridges are carved 8 coiling dragons. There are 4 lifelike stone lions on the top of the bridge as well. Standing on the bridge, you can get a panoramic view of the whole town.
There are nine old streets stretching along the river. On the other side of the streets stand ancient houses and shops. North Street is the best preserved ancient street in Shanghai. On this one-kilometer-long street are historical buildings and long-established shops. The narrow lanes to other places may provoke your curiosity to explore!
City God Temple, a Taoist temple, is located in the center of the town. With its simple but elegant buildings, there is a stage inside temple to hold opera performance.
Post Office of Qing Dynasty was an official body introduced from the Western Europe. It is the only well-preserved site of post offices from the Qing dynasty in Shanghai. It is now open to the public.
Admission Fee: Free of Charge (the attractions in the town need paid ticket)
Opening Time: the 24 hours a day (shops in the town: 8:00-22:00)
How to get there: Take coach bus (at 10-minute intervals) at Shanghai South Railway or at Jinling Road of People’s Square (at 20-minute intervals)